Alumni Update - Shannon Davis (Point Park)

Written by Drew Karpen on .

CLERMONT, Fla. – Point Park University softball struggled at the plate, losing two games in Clermont, Fla. Sunday.

The Pioneers (3-3) fell to the University of Michigan Dearborn, 6-2, in the first game of the day.

Sophomore Shannon Davis, a West Mifflin graduate, was 2-for-3.



Alumni Update - Ryan Maha (Carnegie Mellon)

Written by Drew Karpen on .

CHICAGO, Ill. – Late defense and timely shooting led the Carnegie Mellon University men's basketball team to an 85-Maha CMU83 overtime victory on the road at the University of Chicago on Sunday, February 5.

The Tartans improve to 11-9 and 5-4 in the University Athletic Association (UAA) while the Maroons drop to 12-8 and 4-5.

Ryan Maha, a West Mifflin graduate, tied his career-high with six made from distance to tie his season-high with 24 points.


(photo courtesy of Carnegie Mellon University)


Wrestling: All-Time Teams - West Miffin

Written by Ken Wunderley on .

Southwestern Pennsylvania has been a hotbed for high school wrestling since the WPIAL held its first tournament in 1936. The Sports Town website will honor the WPIAL's best wrestlers of all-time during the 2016-17 season. Wrestling Historian Ken "Stats" Wunderley, with the help of former Mt. Lebanon coach Bill Lewis, will pick an All-Time Team for 72 high schools from the WPIAL.

The All-Time Teams will feature the best wrestlers from those schools. We will feature 6-7 high schools each Wednesday on Sports Town for 11 weeks during the season. The All-Time lists reflect high school accomplishments only. College and international accomplishments were not considered.

The featured schools for Week 8 are: Avella, Keystone Oaks, McGuffey, Shady Side Academy, North Hills, and West Mifflin.

Three West Mifflin North wrestlers qualified for the PIAA Tournament. Len DeAugustino is W.M. North's only WPIAL champion and two-time PIAA qualifier. Below is West Mifflin North's top four wrestlers in alphabetical order.


Football: West Mifflin's Johnson brothers commit to Slippery Rock

Written by Drew Karpen on .

Two is always better than one. Slippery Rock University will get to enjoy that luxury with the commitments of West Mifflin’s Dorian and Maryce Johnson. Dorian announced his commitment to The Rock today at 2:23 p.m., followed by Maryce just seven minutes later on Twitter.

“It’s a blessing, especially since we both had the same offers,” Dorian Johnson said.


Besides Slippery Rock, the Johnson brothers also received an offer from Lincoln University.


Dorian, standing 5-foot-10 and weighing 160-pounds, finished this past year in the top five in the state in interceptions with seven and interceptions returned for touchdowns with four.


Maryce finished second in the Class 4A Big Nine Conference with five sacks.


The 6-foot, 220-pounder also had an impact on offense, rushing 44 times for 240 yards.


Both Dorian and Maryce were named 1st Team All-Conference.


Football: West Mifflin's Bellante commits to Notre Dame College

Written by Drew Karpen on .

West Mifflin’s Brody Bellante became the second WPIAL player this weekend to commit to Notre Dame College in South Euclid, Ohio. Penn Hills wide receiver Jeremy Hamilton also committed to the Falcons.

Bellante committed to the Falcons today via Twitter. His other offer came from West Virginia Wesleyan.


Bellante was an All-Conference honorable mention in the Class 4A Big Nine Conference at free safety.


The senior finished the year with five interceptions and 63 tackles for the Titans. He also spent time on offense at wide receiver with 10 receptions for 214 yards and two touchdowns. His receptions and yard total were second best on the time.


He also is a member on the West Mifflin basketball team.