Baseball: 2013 Class A Playoff Picture

Written by Ken Wunderley on .

The WPIAL playoff field has been completed in Class A. Fifteen teams have qualified, and maybe one more. The WPIAL Baseball Steering Committee will meet Thursday to determine the brackets.

Section 1-A - Carmichaels (9-1) won the section title. California (8-2) and Jefferson-Morgan (7-3) are the other two qualifiers.

Section 2-A - Serra (10-0) won the section crown. Bishop Canevin (6-3) and Monessen (5-4) have qualified and play today in their section finale. Frazier (5-5) will tie for third and qualify if Monessen losses to Bishop Canevin. Monessen and Frazier split their two section games.

Section 3-A - Western Beaver (12-0) claimed the section title. Union placed second (9-3). Rochester (6-6) finished third.

Section 4-A - Riverview (7-1) and North Catholic (7-1) tied for the section title and split their section games. Springdale (3-5) is the other qualifier.

Section 5-A - Our Lady of the Sacred Heart (10-0) went unbeaten in the section. Vincentian Academy (7-3) and Sewickley Academy (7-3) tied for second and split their two section games.